1972 - 1980

Manitoba Theatre School is founded and run by the Manitoba Theatre Centre.

Manitoba Theatre School is closed and the Manitoba Theatre Workshop is founded by concerned students, teachers and community members, spearheaded by Co-Founders Colin Jackson and Charles Huband.

November 24, 1972 Manitoba Theatre Workshop is incorporated. 

Colin Jackson was appointed Director of Manitoba Theatre Workshop, a position he held until 1976.  Following Colin’s departure, Deborah Baer Quinn was appointed Artistic Director of MTW.  Charles Huband was the first President of the Board of Directors.      

Manitoba Theatre Workshop officially opens its doors in the old Grain Exchange Building, at 160 Princess Street, renovated with financial support from individuals, businesses and government including an Opportunities for Youth grant. This government grant enabled the employment of a number of young people assisted by many volunteers. The objectives of Manitoba Theatre Workshop expands on those of the Manitoba Theatre School to include people of all ages and levels of sophistication.
1973 - 1981
Manitoba Theatre Workshop supports and develops creative expression in the community though its school, its outreach program and its theatre. It helps and encourages local playwrights and performers, and moves continuously towards becoming a theatre resource centre.

Our Story